Boast and Blues

Got a postcard fetish
like the world is only real
when i take it in at a gallop
reaching past my waist for once
to scoop the glitz and gloss
from a revolving rack
and rickety tin

i’ll take ten i boast as
the gatekeeper counts my gold
and passes me adam and eve
the sword the famine the dragon. disease
the castle caste, tits and ass.
rome peru and babylon

ghost towns and phone stalls
gauzed in urine and spiders webs
with pies cooling on the ledges edge
paint sludged plexiglass in bends and bends
sleeping men sprawled in beards and smell
well

the day starts well

 

I been looking, for some love in my life
My girl she gave me a bumper sticker

I just wanna find some damn warmth tonight
but shes gone brought a shopping list with her

I’m dreaming of fire, its screaming red
But shes gotta go find a new sweater

I’m looking to make love tonight
If shes gonna go, I will let her, I’ll

Find me a new, new woman
Find me a woman body and soul
Find me a sweet lovin woman
She loves my arms she’s willing to roll

Well I played those games and walked that line
but this jailhouse bit is getting old

I’ll find me a new, new woman
Next to you she gone shine like gold

Find me a new, new woman
Find me a woman body and soul
Find me a sweet lovin woman
She loves my arms she’s willing to roll

I won’t spend one more night cold
I won’t do as no stranger told
I won’t wait til I’m grey and old
You gonna lose your hold

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

